Potomac State wins back-to-back WPCC Championships

2012 WPCC Champs
The Potomac State Volleyball team defended their WPCC Championship with another title.

YOUNGWOOD, Pa. Potomac State College coach Martha Ganoe, who was inducted into the Fairmont State Hall of Fame on Friday, led her team to the Western Pennsylvania Collegiate Conference championship and was named the conference’s coach of the year on Saturday.

This marks the second straight year for the Catamounts to take home the crown and Potomac State has now won the WPCC Championship four of the last five years.

Potomac State beat Beaver 25-14, 25-6, 25-14 in the conference semifinals, then beat Butler 18-25, 25-13, 23-25, 2523, 15-13 in the finals at Westmoreland County Community College.

Against Beaver, Peyton Smith served 11 points and four aces with four assists and seven digs. Katie Bush added nine points four aces and seven kills, Dakotah Corbin racked up six kills and nine digs, Michaela Osbourne recorded seven points, three blocks and three kills, Nadia Berhane had 11 points and three aces, Amber Wesley nine kills and Brooke Wallace 13 digs.

The Catamounts edged Butler, led by Berhane with 11 points and 14 digs. Smith was outstanding again with 10 points, 19 digs and 47 assists, Bush added 29 digs and 12 kills, Wesley had 17 kills, Corbin 11 kills and 12 digs and Osbourne nine kills, nine digs and seven blocks.

Bush, Corbin, Smith and Wesley were name to the WPCC All-Conference team.

Potomac State is now 16-10 and plays at Northern Virginia Community College on Tuesday.