POTOMAC STATE COLLEGE

Faculty Assembly

Minutes

April 26, 2019

The Faculty Assembly meeting of WVU-Potomac State College was called to order at 3:07pm by Chair Chisholm in Science Room 220.

Voting Members Present

Arjel, K. Haich, N. Pritts, C. Armentrout, D. Hudgins, C. Rawlings, J. Badenhoop, J. Huffman, V. Saifi, M. Ballard, D. Julian, C. Samuels, H. Bridges, C. Kline, V. Schafer, A. Burnett, J. Lawrence, C. Schafer, D. Cheves, R. Little. D. Stone, J. Chisholm, S. Martini, M. Sydow, T. Cunningham, E. Meadows, Y. Upton, R. Douthitt, P. Merrifield, J. Vogtman, J. Frazier, V. Moore, M. Weaver. A. Whitacre, K. Ganesh, G. Morgart, J. Garcia Martinez, N. Oberlechner, S. Wilcox. G. Goff, N. Petersen, R.

Voting Members Absent

Bello, A. Jones, J. Plitnik. B. Chandler, N. Liller. B. Samuels, H. Stone, J. Garcia Martinez, N Lessard. D. Haich, N. Mehra, D. Sydow, T. Miller, J. Upton, R.

Non-Voting Members Present

Orlikhoff, J.

Guests of Faculty Assembly

Little, B.

Professor Frazier moved for approval of the minutes from the March 22, 2019 faculty assembly. **Motion Carried**.

President Orlikoff reported the following:

- Thanked faculty for the 2018-2019 academic year.
- Retention numbers from Fall 2018 to Spring 2019 increased 10% from previous the previous year.
- The third NSO went great with the new formatting.
- Budget Issues: WVU is looking for ways to achieve a \$14.8 million reduction. There is a voluntary separation incentive program (VSIP). Anyone with 20 years of service in the WVU-system is eligible. These requests will be reviewed carefully.
 - Maryanne Reed, Dean of Reed College of Media, has been named Provost of WVU.
 - WVU-PSC won first place in innovations at Demo Day for the Sugar Shack.
 - Wished faculty a wonderful summer.

Associate Dean Douthitt reported the following:

• Grades for students who applied for graduation are due Friday, May 3 at noon.

- Graduation is Saturday, May 4. Faculty need to be present at 10:30am in robes and regalia. The ceremony begins at 11:00am.
 - Faculty Development Day is May 7 and will begin at 9:30.
 - Thanked faculty for helping with the NSOs and developing student schedules.

Faculty Assembly Chair Chisholm reported the following:

- Thanked Kay Jones for being an administrative secretary for the faculty assembly.
- Discussed the changes that have happened over the year through faculty assembly. Thanked the faculty for the hard work put into the work, as well as the Executive Committee for the work they've done as well.
- Outstanding Professor Award and Great Teachers Seminar is Friday, May 3 beginning at 12:30pm. It will be held at the Candlewyck Inn.
- Personally, wanted to thank faculty for all the love and support she received after her mother's passing. Expressed how much she appreciated her work family and how much she enjoys working here at WVU-PSC.

Faculty Representative Reports:

- WVU Senate Report:
 - Provost Joyce McConnell will be leaving WVU University to become President at Colorado State University.
 - C.B Wilson announced his retirement.
 - CHEM 111 was pulled from the agenda. The pre-requisites were updated, and the course was approved.
 - Roy Nutter announced that HEPC is trying to fill the void with Carolyn Long leaving. He also stated that the president of Glenville State College has resigned due to a no-confidence vote, and that the president of Bridge Valley Community & Technical College is under evaluation. Wheeling Jesuit College has eliminated 20 of its majors and is laying off faculty.
 - Stan Hileman expects Rules 1.12 (Educational Materials) 5.8 (Travel), 1.5 (Intellectual Property Rule for Patent, Copyright, and Trademark Rights), 1.8 (Freedom of Expression), and 5.5 (Use of University Facilities) to be released for comment.
 - Lisa DiBartolomeo, from Eberly College, is promoting the use of #whatsmyname. This follows the death of a student in South Carolina who was killed by someone impersonating an Uber driver. WVU will soon be promoting #whatsmyname as well.
 - MyTravel is being strongly encouraged to be used by faculty.
 - → Full minutes of the April 8, 2019 meeting, and annexes, can be found

here.

- WVU Senate Executive Committee:
 - No report.
- ACF Report:
- No report.

Instructional Programs Committee:

- Dr. Huffman moved to accept the course change to BTEC 350. Motion Carried.
- Professor A. Schafer moved to approve the program changes to PSC_P_MLS: PSC_Pre-Medical Laboratory Science and PSC_E_CHD_ED: PSC-Child Development and Family Studies. **Motion Carried**.
 - Professor Saifi moved to approve the Yearly Committee Report. Motion Carried.

Faculty Welfare:

- Discussion on the Workload Planning Document:
 - Emphasized that the document cannot be used in a punitive manner.
 - Specifically, if the reality of the year differs from the workload plan, and it should be explained in the narrative that is a required part of the yearly file. Dr. Orlikoff will develop guidelines on how to write the narratives and how they will be used, with specific references to both the yearly and the cumulative narratives.
 - The Promotion and Tenure Board in Morgantown looks for a yearly workload planning document as they consider requests for action. Files without yearly workload planning documents (for all years since they have been implemented) will not be considered for action.
- Professor Vogtman moved for approval of the Yearly Committee Report. Motion Carried.

Committee on Committees:

• Dr. Badenhoop moved to approve the Yearly Committee Report as distributed to the assembly. Motion Carried.

Instructional Resources Committee:

 Dr. Huffman moved that the Yearly Committee Report be sent back to the Instructional Resources Chair for revisions. Discussion revealed that the report should be an objective summary of the committee's work not a subjective report. <u>Motion Carried.</u>

Library Committee:

• Dr. Meadows moved to approve the Yearly Committee Report as distributed to the assembly. Motion Carried.

Assembly Officers for 2019-2020 Academic Year:

- Donna Ballard was elected Chair-Elect.
- Joan Vogtman ran unopposed for the position of Secretary.
- Cassandra Pritts ran unopposed for the position of Parliamentarian.
- Tom Sydow ran unopposed for the position of ACF representative.
- Nickolas Goff ran unopposed for the position of ACF Alternative Representative.

New Business:

None.

Announcements:

- WVU Celebrate Conference is May 8. There will be a bus leaving Keyser at 6:30am. It will also stop in LaVale for those in the Cumberland area around 7:00am. If you plan to attend, please register on line and let Dr. Meadows if you will be riding the bus.
- Sunday, April 28, at 1:00pm the Sugar Shack is hosting an open house. Recognition Day ceremonies begin at 3:00 pm at Church McKee. Any faculty who are presenting, please arrive early. Sigma Phi Omega banquet will begin at 5:00 pm.
 - The library will be closed May 7 for a meeting at WVU-Morgantown. The Academic Success Center will be open.
- SAGE students took first place at the undergraduate Innovation experience in WVU-Morgantown for the Sugar Shack.

Adjournment:

• Professor Vogtman moved for the meeting to be adjourned at 3:57pm. Motion Carried.

/ Kay Jones
Administrative Secretary