

Minutes Faculty Assembly Friday, April 26, 2024 3:00 pm Science Hall 220

1. Call to Order

- 2. A new agenda was proposed to add Jeff Jones, Chair Elect presentation.
- **3.** Approval Minutes of the March 22, 2024, Faculty Assembly Meeting (Annex # 1)-Approved as distributed.
- 4. Report from Interim President Paul Kreider- (Annex # 2)
 - Interim President Kreider reviewed the items his report that was sent in advance. In addition, he clarified items raised from faculty.
 - Student Government was actively involved in the preparation process for Campus Carry Act.
 - The sale of Catamount Place has been approved. The deed will not be received until the next fiscal year.

A motion was made from the floor by Jeff Jones to dispense with agenda items 5,6 and 7. Bruce seconded the motion. Motion carried.

5. Report from Dean of Academic Affairs Phil Douthitt (Annex # 3)

- 6. Report from Faculty Assembly Chair Richard Petersen (Annex # 4)
- 7. Faculty Representative Reports

8. Committee Reports (Annex # 5, #6, and #7)

- Academic Standards- 1- year and 5-year reports (JoAnn Burnett)
- Library (Caitlin Hudgins)
- Instructional Resources (Candace Lawrence)

Bruce Liller made the motion to accept the reports as distributed. Don Schafer seconded the motion. **Motion carried.**

9. Election for Faculty Assembly Committee Chairs (vote totals)

• Instructional Programs- Candace Lawrence- 3

Danielle Lessard-4

Vicki Huffman- 22

• Academic Standards- JoAnn Burnett- 22

Mia Martini-7

- Instructional Resources- Candace Lawrence (1 opposed)
- Library- Caitlin Hudgins

10. Jeff Jones, Chair Elect address to the Assembly-

• Jeff Jones announced that he had accepted the position of Division Chair for Applied Science. He presented Chair Richard Petersen with his resignation. He also thanked members of the Faculty Assembly for their support.

11. Election for Faculty Assembly Officers (vote totals)

- Chair- Joan Vogtman
- Chair- Elect- Danielle Lessard- 3 Brian Plitnik-22

Mia Martini- 7

- Secretary- **Bruce Liller** was nominated by Heidi Samuels from the floor. He accepted the nomination.
- Parliamentarian- Cassandra Pritts

12. Instructional Programs- Sheri Chisholm

• A program change is proposed for the RBA program to reflect changes from HEPC.

Sheri Chisholm moved to accept the changes. Jeff Jones seconded the motion. Motion

carried.

13. Announcements-

- Discussion was held about the First Day Program that was recently announced. There is a website to address these issues.
- A reminder was provided to faculty of a planned memorial service for Dr. Leo Johnson at the VFW on Friday afternoon. Everyone is encouraged to wear WVU gear.
- Outstanding Professor reception will be held at 1 pm on Friday at the Candlewyck Inn.

14. New Business- None

- 15. Old Business-
 - Andrea Schafer shared feedback received from Academic Transformation for the Ad Hoc Advising Committee. The recommendation from the committee was accepted to move to a centralized advising model.
- 16. Adjournment-
 - Joan Vogtman moved to adjourn the meeting. Jessie O'Quinn seconded the motion.